The Rake

Picture from Urban Legends Fandom.

BACKGROUND:

The Rake is believed to be a monster from the horror creepypasta genre. It appears as a tall, pale, and hairless humanoid that often crawls on all fours. The creature has many teeth and spindly limbs, giving it its name. It’s said the Rake will creep into bedrooms late at night and induce nightmares. After watching his victim for a bit, he’ll kill them.


STORIES & CASES:

It was the summer of 2003. Reports of a strange, human-like creature started pouring in across the Northeastern US. Interestingly, there was a media blackout and all information and accounts of the creature were destroyed or vanished.

In 2006, “victims” began collaborating for research for the Rake. They were able to find nearly two dozen documents that spoke of the creature, and they were dated from the 12th Century to present.


WITNESSES:

A Mariner’s Log from 1691. “He came to me in my sleep. From the foot of my bed, I felt a sensation. He took everything. We must return to England. We shall not come here again at the request of the Rake.”

A Journal Entry from 1880. “I have experienced the greatest terror. I have experienced the greatest terror. I have experienced the greatest terror. I see his eyes when I close mine. They are hollow. Black. They saw me and pierced me. His wet hand. I will not sleep. His voice (unintelligible text).”

A Suicide Note in 1964. “As I prepare to take my life, I feel it necessary to assuage any guilt or pain I have introduced through this act. It is not the fault of anyone other than him. For once, I awoke and felt his presence. And once, I awoke and saw his form. Once again, I awoke and heard his voice, and looked into his eyes. I cannot sleep without fear of what I might next awake to experience. I cannot ever wake. Goodbye.”

In 2006, two Spanish men were walking through the Catalonia Forest and captured the first video footage of the Rake.

In 2010, a hunter’s trail camera was vandalized, but still managed to capture a disturbing image. (See picture above.)


SOURCES:

  • Creepypasta
  • Dictionary
  • Urban Legends Fandom

2 thoughts on “The Rake”

  1. I have never heard of this creature before, though I have seen that image and never made the connection. The video footage from 2006 would be interesting to see…though i would certainly not want to meet this beastie in my nightmares or anywhere else!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment